History - Frank Zumbruch EN

History


with Dr. Peter Kurz, Wolf Lotter and co-moderator Lena Raditsch at the inn-make! symposium “People Planet Profit” at Mannheim Congress Center Rosengarten, 2019
Photo: Sebastian Weindel for Stadtmarketing Mannheim / innomake!

PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES TO PROMOTE THE CREATIVE ECONOMY

Frank Zumbruch has been self-employed since 2011 under the label ZAKK – consulting, project development and knowledge transfer in the cultural and creative industries.

In 2021, as a managing partner, he founded machwerkstadt GmbH with offices in Cologne and Mannheim together with the architect Claus Fischer. Their business purpose is the development of ideal-typical centers for urban production at the intersections of creative industries, crafts, technology and trade – the machwerkhouses.

From 2017 to 2020, Frank Zumbruch headed the Creative Commission Mannheim as Cultural Economy Officer. The Creative Commission was a municipal one-stop agency for all aspects of cultural and creative industries in Mannheim and combined the competence field management for cultural and creative industries, the creative industries centers ALTES VOLKSBAD, C-HUB and TEXTILEREI as well as the Film Commission Nordbaden.

From 2014 to 2017, Frank Zumbruch managed the C-HUB Center for Creative Businesses Mannheim as Community Manager and built it up as an important hub of the cultural and creative industries in Baden-Württemberg.

From 2010 to 2013, Frank Zumbruch was Commissioner for Cultural and Creative Industries of the City of Heidelberg. In addition to Heidelberg’s successful application as a UNESCO City of Literature, the conception and realization of placemaking projects, such as the “Breidenbach Studios” or the creative business center in the former fire station “Dezernat 16” were among the most important projects that he initiated and successfully implemented during this time as part of an integrated urban development strategy.


with Stefan Sagmeister at Trinitatis Church in Mannheim, 2016
Photo: Artur Bauer for UNCOVER

PREVIOUS ENTREPRENEURIAL STATIONS IN THE CULTURAL AND CREATIVE INDUSTRIES

In 2001, Frank Zumbruch founded komplizen.com with other entrepreneurs – the network for communication in the Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region, which was recognized in 2008 by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Economic Affairs as Service Provider of the Year in the category “Outstanding Networks & Cooperation” and in 2017 by the Bundesverband StrategieForum was awarded the strategy prize in the “Best Cooperation” category.

In 1996, Frank Zumbruch founded Unity Concepts GmbH for marketing and market research in Heidelberg, in which he remained a shareholder until 2011.

In 1994 he founded Wolf, Zumbruch & Partner | werbeagenten as an agency for design and communication in Heidelberg, whose business Frank Zumbruch managed together with Tobias Wolf until 2011.

TEACHING ACTIVITIES IN THE CONTEXT OF THE CULTURAL AND CREATIVE INDUSTRIES

Frank Zumbruch has been a guest lecturer at the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg since 2015. The courses in the “Music and Creative Industries” master’s program are dedicated to cluster management in the cultural and creative industries (until 2021), entrepreneurship in the cultural and creative industries, sustainability and in a specialization module to the design industry.

Since 2019 he has also been a lecturer at the Karlshochschule International University in Karlsruhe. Under the title “Innovation and Sustainability – Creating a Better Future” he offered the specialization module “Creative Industries” in the Master’s degree in Management with a focus on “Creativity & Innovation” for start-ups in the creative economy until 2022.

From 2013 to 2016, Frank Zumbruch held the seminar “Cultural and Creative Industries and Urban Development” in the module “State and Public Administration” as a lecturer at the Max Weber Institute for Sociology at the University of Heidelberg.

VOLUNTEER COMMITMENT TO THE CULTURAL AND CREATIVE INDUSTRIES

Frank Zumbruch is co-founder and from 2015 to 2021 chairman of the Kreativregion e.V.. The purpose of the association is to promote the cultural and creative industries and to strengthen the awareness of the social, political and economic actors in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region for the connections between the creative economy .

Frank Zumbruch has been a member of the board of directors of Designzentrum Rhein Neckar e.V. since 2016, which aims to raise public awareness of the importance of design.

One of the most important initiatives of the Designzentrum was the UNCOVER Designfest, which Frank Zumbruch co-founded in 2015, managed until 2020 and was a member of the board of trustees until 2021. The festival was dedicated to the design of socially relevant transformation processes and announced three times the UNCOVER Design Awards, endowed with 20,000 euros, in the context of the 17 sustainability goals of the UN.

Frank Zumbruch is an appointed member of the advisory board of formAD e.V. for the promotion of architecture, design and communication. formAD is the association organized as a private-sector and civic interest group for the cultural and creative industries in Heidelberg and the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region.

From 2011 to 2016, Frank Zumbruch was spokesman for the creative industries network of the Rhine-Neckar Chamber of Industry and Commerce.

From 2015 to 2020, Frank Zumbruch was continuously appointed as a member of the jury the Kultur- und Kreativpiloten competition of the Federal Government’s competence center for cultural and creative industries and from 2017 to 2020 in the IDEENSTARK competition of Baden-Württemberg, before he took on the project management of the qualification program.

Stationen


mit Dr. Peter Kurz, Wolf Lotter und Co-Moderatorin Lena Raditsch beim Symposium „People Planet Profit“ im Mannheimer Congress Center Rosengarten, 2019
Foto: Sebastian Weindel für Stadtmarketing Mannheim / innomake

Berufliche Tätigkeiten zur Förderung der Kreativen Ökonomie

Seit 2011 ist Frank Zumbruch unter dem Label ZAKK – Beratung, Projektentwicklung und Wissensvermittlung in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft selbstständig tätig.

2021 gründete er als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter gemeinsam mit dem Architekten Claus Fischer die machwerkstadt GmbH mit Sitz in Köln und Mannheim. Ihr Geschäftszweck ist die Entwicklung idealtypischer Zentren für Urbane Produktion an den Schnittstellen von Kreativwirtschaft, Handwerk, Technologie und Handel – die machwerkhäuser.

Von 2017 bis 2020 leitete Frank Zumbruch als Cultural Economy Officer die Creative Commission Mannheim. Diese verstand sich als kommunale One-Stop-Agency für alle Belange der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Mannheim und vereinte das Kompetenzfeldmanagement Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft, die Kreativwirtschaftszentren ALTES VOLKSBAD, C-HUB und TEXTILEREI sowie die Film Commission Nordbaden.

Von 2014 bis 2017 leitete Frank Zumbruch als Community Manager das C-HUB Kreativwirtschaftszentrum Mannheim und baute es als wichtigen Dreh- und Angelpunkt der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Baden-Württemberg auf.

Von 2010 bis 2013 war Frank Zumbruch als Beauftragter für Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft der Stadt Heidelberg tätig. Die Konzeption und Realisierung von Placemaking-Projekten, wie bspw. die Breidenbach Studios oder das Kreativwirtschaftszentrum in der ehemaligen Feuerwache (Dezernat 16) als sog. „Colabore“ gehörten neben der erfolgreichen Bewerbung Heidelbergs als UNESCO City of Literature zu den wichtigsten Projekten, die er in dieser Zeit im Rahmen einer integrierten Stadtentwicklungsstrategie initiieren und erfolgreich umsetzen konnte.


mit Stefan Sagmeister vor der Mannheimer Trinitatiskirche, 2016
Foto: Artur Bauer für UNCOVER

Vorherige unternehmerische Stationen in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft

2001 gründete Frank Zumbruch mit weiteren Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmern komplizen.com – das Netzwerk für Kommunikation in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar, welches u.a. 2008 vom Wirtschaftsministerium Baden-Württemberg als Dienstleister des Jahres in der Kategorie „Herausragende Netzwerke & Kooperationen“ und 2017 vom Bundesverband StrategieForum mit dem Strategiepreis in der Kategorie „Beste Kooperation“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

1996 gründete Frank Zumbruch die Unity Concepts GmbH für Marketing und Marktforschung in Heidelberg, in der er bis 2011 Gesellschafter blieb.

1994 gründete er Wolf, Zumbruch & Partner | Werbeagenten als Agentur für Design und Kommunikation in Heidelberg, deren Geschäfte Frank Zumbruch bis 2011 gemeinsam mit Tobias Wolf führte.

Lehrtätigkeiten im Kontext der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft

Seit 2015 lehrt Frank Zumbruch als Gastdozent an der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg.
Die Lehrveranstaltungen im Masterstudiengang „Music and Creative Industries“ widmen sich dem Clustermanagement Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft (bis 2021), der Existenzgründung in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft, der Nachhaltigkeit sowie in einem Spezialisierungsmodul der Designwirtschaft.

Seit 2019 doziert er zudem als Lehrbeauftragter an der Karlshochschule International University in Karlsruhe.
Unter dem Titel „Innovation and Sustainability – Creating a better Future“ bot er bis 2022 das Spezialisierungsmodul „Creative Industries“ im Masterstudiengang Management mit Schwerpunkt „Creativity & Innovation“ zu Existenzgründung in der Kreativen Ökonomie an.

Von 2013 bis 2016 hielt Frank Zumbruch als Lehrbeauftragter am Max-Weber-Institut für Soziologie an der Universität Heidelberg das Seminar „Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft und Stadtentwicklung“ im Modul „Staat und öffentliche Verwaltung“.

Ehrenamtliches Engagement für die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft

Frank Zumbruch ist Mitgründer und von 2015 bis 2021 Vorsitzender des Kreativregion e.V.. Der Zweck des Vereins ist die Förderung der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft und die Stärkung des Bewusstseins bei den gesellschaftlichen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Akteuren der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar für die Zusammenhänge der Kreativen Ökonomie.

Seit 2016 ist Frank Zumbruch Mitglied des Vorstands im Designzentrum Rhein Neckar e.V., das sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, die Bedeutung von Design stärker ins öffentliche Bewusstsein zu rücken.

Eine der wichtigsten Initiativen des Designzentrums ist das UNCOVER Designfest, das Frank Zumbruch 2015 initiierte, bis 2020 leitete und in dessen Kuratorium er heute Mitglied ist. Es widmet sich der Gestaltung gesellschaftsrelevanter Transformationsprozesse und schreibt alle zwei Jahre die mit 20.000 Euro dotierten UNCOVER Design Awards im Kontext der 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UN aus.

Frank Zumbruch ist berufenes Beiratsmitglied im formAD e.V. zur Förderung von Architektur, Design und Kommunikation. formAD ist die als Verein organisierte privatwirtschaftliche und bürgerschaftliche Interessenvertretung der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Heidelberg und der Metropolregion Rhein Neckar.

Von 2011 bis 2016 war Frank Zumbruch Sprecher des Netzwerks Kreativwirtschaft der Industrie- und Handelskammer Rhein-Neckar.

Von 2015 bis 2020 wurde Frank Zumbruch durchgehend als Jurymitglied bei den Auswahlgesprächen zum Wettbewerb Kultur- und Kreativpiloten des Kompetenzzentrums Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft der Bundesregierung und von 2017 bis 2020 beim Landeswettbewerb IDEENSTARK der Medien- und Filmgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg berufen.